Where the hell’s my snow shovel?

It appears our winter has finally arrived.  Call me a crazy man ( my sister does, quite frequently) but I like the Alaskan winter.  Spend any time here and you’ll either like winter or you’ll move.  It’s a shade after 9 AM and the sky’s starting to get light.   We got an inch  or so of snow over the last couple days and I do believe it’s here until breakup sometime in April.  Another 7 weeks and the days start getting longer.  It’s just one day closer to breakup….

Just took the world’s goofiest Lab for her morning romp.  Looks like I had a couple moose wander through the yard last night after I got home.  It was fairly warm last night, mid to upper 20’s, so this comes as no surprise. The willows at the end of the drive are broken over and there are a couple lines of hoof prints in the fresh snow.   They weren’t too big  based on the size of the tracks; probably a cow and this year’s calf. 

I reckon I ought to continue the search for employment.  In Fairbanks.  In winter.  It’s becoming a daunting task.  We don’t have much in the way of industry up here unless you count tourists and crystal meth labs. I may have made a grave strategic error leaving my last job without having something set up, but there were some ethical issues there I just couldn’t condone any longer.  More on that at a later date, when I’m feeling maudlin, or have a couple glasses of port in me.

2 Responses to “Where the hell’s my snow shovel?”


  1. 1 Pat Pranitis October 28, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    Where has THIS talent been hiding all these years???? You may not have to seek employment in the frozen tundra….you can do this for a living.

    Great job.

  2. 2 Janey October 28, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Great! I really really enjoyed it and keep it up. Just don’t bash my town around too much!


Leave a Reply

