Important safety tip

Nope, it isn’t “never cross the streams…..”

I really like coffee, probably more than I should.  I have several to-go mugs I use from day-to-day.  What usually happens is I get a full mug, head out the door, and through the day refill it where I can.  It’s a good thing to know which shops have free coffee for their customers.  (Nope, that ain’t it either)  At the end of the day, I tend to forget my mug in the truck.  I either grab a spare the next morning or figure I’ll  just reuse the one I have in the rig already.

Here lies the rub.  It’s flippin’ cold up here and whatever coffee is left in the mug at the end of the day tends to freeze solid.  Not bad if it’s just a wee bit at the bottom, but if I forget a fairly full mug, the next morning can be a real pain in the tuckus.  I usually don’t remember until I pull the mug out of the holder and hand it to the ever so happy coffeegal at the local javashack.  Getting old sucks sometimes……

So here I am. Three to-go mugs in the sink with hot water in them trying to thaw three blocks of coffee flavored ice.  The underlying problem (science warning!) is the mugs are insulated and don’t care if the insides are hot or cold.  So you just don’t have to heat up the ice, you gotta heat up the whole damn mug.  Takes a while and when you try to do this in line at the drive-thru coffee shack at 7 AM, the guys behind you get a bit testy.  Tip the sweet little gal inside well when you do this too.  They hate it as well. 

Important safety tip:  Take the frappin’ mug out of the truck at night.

1 Response to “Important safety tip”


  1. 1 Da Goddess November 29, 2009 at 4:20 am

    Post-it notes on the garage door help. Not in the house…from the garage to the house.


Leave a Reply

