Friends

A social event to beat most events in Fairbanks this evening.  The outgoing Fairbanks North Star Borough mayor was feted.  There were the usual stories and “thanks for your service”s  by the usual people at these things, but one speaker in particular really grabbed my attention.  Grabbed it enough, by the by,  to try and share his words with you.

One of the guest speakers is a long time friend of the mayor’s.  He’s a prominent business owner and, in my opinion, a pretty sharp guy.  He’s one of those types of fellows that will tell you, straight up, exactly where he stands on things and if you don’t like it, that’s just tough.  I like that in a guy.   This gentleman’s also a long time friend of my significant other.  The first time I met him, his first words to me were “if you treat her wrong, I’ll beat you with a baseball bat.”  There is no doubt in my miniature military mind he’d do exactly that.

I can’t remember his words tonight verbatim, so I’ll paraphrase a bit and try to do him justice. 

“What is a friend?” were the first words. “A friend is someone who’s there no matter what, no questions asked.  Jim’s my friend and if Jim called up and said he’d just killed a guy, I wouldn’t ask why, I’d ask “do you have a shovel?”  He’d do the same if it were me making the call.  Not “why’d ya kill him?” because the SOB probably deserved it, but do you have a shovel.  Friends are rare and if you have 5 of ’em, you’re the richest man on earth.”

Truer words have rarely been spoken.  I can count on one hand the number of true friends I have.  I’m hoping that number will increase by one.

1 Response to “Friends”


  1. 1 Da Goddess November 29, 2009 at 4:21 am

    Yes, friends like that are rare and very precious.


Leave a Reply

