Press 1 for…..lunch

So I’m on my lunch break…..heading over to Freddie’s deli for their version of the Happy Meal.  It’s 3 big chicken strips and a goodly portion of wedge fries.  I know, my cholesterol is going through the roof and I’m gonna regret it, but it’s really cheap, close to the hangar, and fast enough to get there and back.  Usually.

I have no idea who does the hiring for the deli counter at our Freddie’s.  I’d love to meet them and ask one short, simple, yes or no question.   “ARE YOU ON DOPE?”  

How hard is it to grasp the concept of customer service people understanding the language spoken by their customers?  It’s noonish, there are a dozen or so people milling in front of the deli counter (there are no lines or any sense of order) and of the 5 workers behind the counter exactly none appear to understand English.  The sounds of frustration fill the air as customers give their orders and then correct the ever so helpful workers three or four times.  Maybe if I ordered in Tagalog or Malaysian I might get an order taken, and more importantly, filled correctly.  The order is three words, only one of which has more than a single syllable.  And yet they get it wrong.

Twenty-five minutes.  A dozen customers, five workers, all simple orders.  Twenty-five minutes.  It boggles the mind.  I’d go to the drive thru at McDonald’s, but they’re even slower. 

I’m gonna go drink heavily now.

1 Response to “Press 1 for…..lunch”


  1. 1 Da Goddess January 1, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    You should go over to that Philippine Cuisine place instead. Bet you’d get great service there.


Leave a Reply

