I’m late, I know….

There I was, sitting at the cabin this weekend enjoying a mid morning sunrise and the aroma of percolated coffee as it bubbled happily on the wood stove.  I said to myself, “Self,” I said, ” this would be a great time to go through the nightmare which is your photo files and put all the cabin ones into one huge, honkin’ file so you can post ’em.”  

“Capital idea.” says I.  So I break out the trusty laptop, pour myself a cup of joe, check on Doggus Maximus to make sure she’s not trying to kick the SO out of bed, and settle down to do some organizing.  (Those who know me are fully aware that I am anything but organized in the strictest sense of the word. I know where things are, but no one else could find things I file without GPS, both hands, and radar assist.)  During my wanderings through photographic chaos, I managed to come across this gem: 

 

This is the main room of a friend’s cabin on Christmas Day.  The SO, her nephew, and I went there for dinner.  Nothing very interesting about that except when one looks a little more closely.  The devil’s in the details so to speak.    Remember tenth grade geometry where all the problems had a list of things called “givens”?  I have for your consideration the following givens:

It’s Christmas Day.  In Alaska.  One can reasonably surmise it’s not balmy outside and it wasn’t.

If you look at the picture, there’s a wood stove with a glass door on the right complete with a supply of firewood.  It’s not lit.  Notice, however, the blazing Yule logs on the left.  That, my friends, is a DVD.  I’ll let that sink in for a minute…go ahead, I’ll wait.    

I took this to email to my brother.  He’d appreciate the humor of a DVD fire when there’s a perfectly good working fireplace available to have a REAL fire.  Even more humorous is the fact that when the fake fire “burns” down to coals, it has new logs magically added and the blaze goes merrily on. 

Maybe I’m the only one who sees the hilarity in this, but I thought I’d share it with the world.   I never did get the photos straight and posted.  There’s always this week…..

 

 

2 Responses to “I’m late, I know….”


  1. 1 Pat Pranitis January 12, 2010 at 6:15 am

    Only you could make a hilarious story out of that…..

  2. 2 Da Goddess January 22, 2010 at 6:18 am

    and i’m not seeing a photo


Leave a Reply

