Springtime musings

Spring may have, in fact, actually sprung in The Frozen Freakin’ North.  It’s been incredibly warm, the sun’s up till after 10 PM, and what little snow we accumulated over the last 9 months is going fast. There are rocks in my driveway, ruts in my road, and buds on the willows.  The Ice Classic tickets are all in (www.nenanaiceclassic.com) and we’re just waiting for the ice to go out of the Tanana River.   What a great time of year!

On a slightly different note, the curling season has come to an end.  I managed to get my butt kicked in the 75th International Bonspiel, as I expected.  Played with three great guys and managed to let them down badly.   As a matter of fact, I didn’t make a shot the entire fourth game we played.  Not a good thing when you’re the skip and the team’s counting on you to make the shot.  Either way, it was a great weekend.  Four days of round the clock playing and two days of all out party.  I figure I have till next October to fix the game issues….

That means it’s time to get reacquainted with my fly rod and my shotgun.  The rivers and streams aren’t open yet so I started with the latter this afternoon.  It’s been way too long since I’ve pulled the trigger  on my Beretta and broke any targets.  Took a ride out to the Skeet & Trap Range on Eielson AFB and reconnected with a couple of old friends.   I even broke a clay target or three along the way!  It’s all about making noise and breaking things in this game… pretty therapeutic as well. Methinks I’ll have to dust off the reloader and do this more often…  The golf clubs are still in exile in the basement where they’ll remain until they can show proper respect.   So there, nyah.

All I have to say is thank God for satellite radio.  The local stations here suck very much badly and I can only punch the scan button so many times.  Now if I can figure out how to download some of this good stuff into my iPhone, I’ll be good to go….

Off to finish being domestic and dance with the vacuum.  It always amazes me just how bad this hovel I call home can get in such a short time.  There’s only me and Doggus Maximus.  I wish she had thumbs……

0 Responses to “Springtime musings”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

