stress relief…

Holy crapoly what a gorgeous weekend in the freakin north!  Clear, sunny, temps in the mid 80’s.  A little hot for my liking but still nice as things go.  Managed to get a few things done around the house, none of which involved feather and fur wrapped hooks. 

Got up early Saturday morning and break out the chainsaw.  Winter’s not all that far off and the woodshed’s a bit thin.  There were a half-dozen birch trees in the front stand that have been dead for a year or two so down they came before the wind decided to drop them on my truck.  Several dozen passes with the Poulan and there’s half a cord of birch ready for the stove.  Moved a face cord from the shed to the rack in the garage as well.  There’s a bit of truth in the adage that firewood warms you twice.   I have a few spruce trees in the back that were killed by a spruce bark beetle infestation a few years back and they’re destined for the same fate as the birch as soon as I sharpen the chains again.

I did a little horsetrading with a colleague at work on Friday.  He has a number of .40 caliber 1911’s he didn’t shoot real often and I have a goodly number of .45’s.  I have one I rarely shoot and he was interested in it.  So we swapped shootin’  irons.  I ended up with a gun I’ll carry and use, as did he.  Now all I need is a set of dies for the reloader…

So I took the new toy out to the range today for a little familiarization and ran a couple hundred rounds through it. The .40’s a snappy little round that does exactly what it’s advertised to do.  The gun consistently shoots a bit low and left and doesn’t have an adjustable rear sight, but as long as I know where it hits I can work with it.  

All in all a good weekend of frustration relief.

1 Response to “stress relief…”


  1. 1 Da Goddess August 2, 2010 at 2:06 am

    It’s time for me to go shooting again. It’s been ages. Found a place to go, too. Not a big shooting park (cuz we have one here), but out in the desert. Can’t wait!

    Sounds like you’re having a pretty good summer. Good luck with the wood choppin’!


Leave a Reply

