The way-back machine

You ever have one of those days when you’re just in the mood for a trip back in time?  I’m having one of those this evening.  Got home from the cabin, got the laundry started, a fire cooking in the wood stove, checked in on the MLB playoffs to see if I’m even gonna bother watching the Series (depends on the Rays/Rangers game, coz the Rangers can’t beat the gahdam yankees), and fired up the Sirius radio on the dish.  The stereo’s tied into the dish receiver so I can dump the TV speakers and listen through a better system.  Nothing like sounds from the 70’s to bring back memories of a gentler time in my life.  Along with some that should stay dead and buried.   Jim Henson as Ernie singing about a rubber duckie for example.   Someone was at work and got paid for coming up with this drivel………what’s worse, I REMEMBER IT.  Oh. My. Flippin’. GAWWWWWWWDDDDDDD! 

And on Oct 10, 1970, it was #32 in the Top 40 charts.  You don’t have to  ask how I know this.  (It’s not stuck in my head, little sis!)  There I was, checking up on my regular blog pages and seeing if the world’s coming to an end yet, when, from out of my speakers rings that timeless voice  “Hi! This is Kasey Kaseum…….”   Sirius 70’s actually plays the American Top 40 show from 40 (REALLY?!?!?!?!?  HOLY SHIT!) years back.  I remember spending Sunday nights with a single plastic earphone (remember them??) attached to a banana yellow circular AM radio stuffed into one ear listening to this show while I scrambled to do Monday’s English assignment that was handed out the week before last.  (A whole PARAGRAPH?  Are you kidding me?  I can’t write that much!!) 

So just for the fun of it, and coz I’m feelin’ froggy, I’m listening.   Where’z my polyester?

3 Responses to “The way-back machine”


  1. 1 Joanna October 11, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    I don’t care what anyone says, “Rubber Ducky” is an awesome song.

  2. 3 Helch October 31, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    Guess what I was listening to last night on Sirius Radio….Kasey Kasseum! What a hoot — I couldn’t believe it when I stumbled on the program….how cool.


Leave a Reply

