way back machine #5

Tonight’s episode is from November 5, 1977.   Jimmy Carter was running the show and my sis was teasing my little brother about having a crush on our boy Jimmy’s daughter Amy.  What the hell ever happened to her?  Or her beer swillin’ Uncle Billy for that matter? I was an all-knowing senior in high school that year and like most kids that age, I just knew I had a mortal lock on how to fix all that was wrong with the world.  It’s funny how the older I got, the smarter my parents became.

 The underlying theme in this week’s trip down memory lane is that insipid, manufactured, same sounding disco.  As the decade wore inexorably on, the size of the bands got almost as big as the collars on our leisure suits.  The last video clip I happened to see of K.C. and the Sunshine Band showed about 50 people on the stage.  Imagine having to lug that crew around with tour buses…

With the end of tonight’s journey, we’ve hit yet another sugary sweet number one tune.  I really disliked this tune then and, after 33 years, still makes me want to stick my head in metal bucket and hammer on the outside as hard as I can.  One hit wonder and America’s sweetheart, Debby Boone’s, You Light Up My Life.   Four straight weeks!!!!    Again, the drugs must have been rather good at Billboard…

1 Response to “way back machine #5”


  1. 1 Helch November 10, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    LOVE this one….are you getting these comments?


Leave a Reply

