Raindrops

keep falling on my head.   It’s still raining and it’s still really ugly on the highways and byways of the Frozen Freakin’ North.  In the 15 years I’ve been here, it’s only rained in winter once before; February, 2003.  I was working for a small maintenance shop at the airport in town and it took me almost 3 1/2 hours to get home.  Normally, it’s about 25 minutes.  Tonight wasn’t too bad, an hour or so, but I still had idiots passing me at 50 MPh plus.  On glare ice.  In the dark.  Fools.

When I was a kid, we had snow days.  It’d snow a foot or so and the school would call off things for the day.  They don’t do that here; they have advisories.  Classes still go on even at -50.  Unless it rains.  The school district has cancelled classes for the week.  Rain days.  Who’da thunk it?

So I’m settled in for the evening with a glass of port close at hand, a fire in the wood stove, and a snoring, happy Lab curled up on the couch.  Let it rain…..

0 Responses to “Raindrops”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

