Spring

And another season comes to an end.  The 76th International Bonspiel finished up this afternoon and with it, so did this winter’s curling season.  The year wasn’t bad, but I sure could have done without three and a half days of catnaps interspresed with mad bouts of sweeping curling rocks.  I normally play the skip’s position and don’t do a whole lot of sweeping, but for this tourney, I was playing as a lead.  That involved throwing the first two stones of each end and sweeping the other three guy’s rocks.  My shoulders are letting me know it’s been a very very long time since I’ve done that.  The team I was on ended up playing quite a few more games than I expected to play which was kind of a double edged sword.  One side was that the season just kept on going and I really wasn’t ready to end it yet. The other is I’m baked to a crackly crunch and feel like I’m 108 years old. 

We’ve shut the compressors off at the club, pulled all the rocks off the ice, and  brought the season to a fitting end.  It’s in the mid fifties ouside, the beer’s cold and flowing, the sun’s up, and the snow’s melting fast.  Spring has finally arrived.  Where’s my fly rod???

At least til next September when we do it all again!

1 Response to “Spring”


  1. 1 Helch April 8, 2011 at 6:31 am

    Shall I send a goodly supply of Ben Gay????


Leave a Reply

